CA elects Members for 19th Congress


The 25-Member bicameral Commission on Appointments (CA), presided over by President of the Senate and ex officio Chairman of the Commission on Appointments Juan Miguel “Migz” F. Zubiri, formally constituted itself and convened today in plenary session to officially swear into office its Members, who were elected from the Senate and House of Representatives, respectively, for the First Regular Session of the 19th Congress. 

From the Senate, elected as CA Members were: Senators Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Binay, Joseph Victor G. Ejercito, Francis “Chiz” G. Escudero,  Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada, Christopher “Bong” T. Go, Loren Legarda, Imee R. Marcos, Grace Poe, Francis “Tol” N. Tolentino, Cynthia A. Villar, Alan Peter “Compañero” S. Cayetano, and Risa Hontiveros.

Elected as CA Members from the House of Representatives were Representatives Ramon N. Guico Jr. (5th Dist. Pangasinan), Lani Mercado-Revilla (2nd Dist., Cavite), Jurdin Jesus M. Romualdo (Lone Dist., Camiguin), Albert S. Garcia (2nd Dist., Bataan), Luis Raymund “LRay” F. Villafuerte Jr. (2nd Dist., Camarines Sur), Manuel T. Sagarbarria (2nd Dist., Negros Oriental), Greg G. Gasataya (Lone Dist. Bacolod City), Rodante Marcoleta (SAGIP Party-List), Johnny T. Pimentel (2nd Dist., Surigao del Sur), Jose Gay G. Padiernos (Party-List Coalition Foundation, Inc.), Oscar “Oca” G. Malapitan (1st Dist., Caloocan City), and Ferjenel G. Biron (4th Dist., Iloilo).

CA elects Officers, Chairpersons of Standing Committees

The Commission completely organized itself during the same plenary session by electing its new set of officers: Rep. Ramon N. Guico Jr. was elected by the House contingent as the Commission Vice-Chairperson while Rep. Luis Raymund “LRay” F. Villafuerte, Jr. and Sen. Alan Peter “Compañero” S. Cayetano were named as Majority Floor Leader and Minority Floor Leader, respectively. Rep. Rodante D. Marcoleta was elected as Asst. Majority Floor Leader while Reps. Jose Gay G. Padiernos and Johnny Ty Pimentel were named Asst. Minority Floor Leaders. Atty. Myra Marie D. Villarica, former Senate Secretary, was also elected as the new Commission Secretary while retired Police Brigadier General Nicasio Javier Radovan Jr. was named as Sergeant-at-Arms.

The chairpersons of the 25 Standing Committees of the Commission were, likewise, elected. The Chairpersons of the various committees are: Rep. Johnny Ty Pimentel, Accounts; Rep. Albert S. Garcia, Agriculture; Sen. Grace Poe, Budget and Management; Sen. Cynthia A. Villar, Constitutional Commissions and Offices; Sen. Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Binay, Education; Sen. Loren Legarda, Energy; Rep. Rodante D. Marcoleta, Ethics; Sen. Imee R. Marcos, Finance; Sen. Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada, Foreign Affairs; Sen. Christopher “Bong” T. Go, Health; Sen. Francis “Chiz” G. Escudero, Interior and Local Government; Sen. Francis “Tol” N. Tolentino, Justice and Judicial and Bar Council; Rep. Greg G. Gasataya, Labor, Employment, Social Welfare and Migrant Workers; Rep. Jose Gay G. Padiernos, Tourism and Economic Development; Rep. Jurdin Jesus M. Romualdo, National Defense; Rep. Rodante D. Marcoleta, Public Works and Highways; Rep. Luis Raymund “LRay” F. Villafuerte, Jr., Rules and Resolutions; Rep. Oscar “Oca” G. Malapitan, Science and Technology; Rep. Lani Mercado-Revilla, Transportation;  Manuel T. Sagarbarria, Information and Communications Technology; Rep. Ferjenel Biron, Trade and Industry; Rep. Manuel T. Sagarbarria, Executive Secretary and Presidential Communications Offices of the Office of the President; and Sen. Joseph Victor G. Ejercito, Human Settlements and Urban Development. (CA-CTS, 08/23/22)